Please join us at Spectrum for the 46th anniversary of Iron Butterfly's immortal hit In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida: Theme and Variations! Organized by Hans Tammen, this evening features New York's boldest downtown artists with their very own take on this music.

From June 14 through 23, 2014, Hans Tammen’s DARK CIRCUITS FESTIVAL features performers who work in contemporary electronic music practices such as circuit bending, no-input mixers, laptops, turntablism, analogue circuitry, network sniffers, live coding and soldering, plus other instruments we may have never heard of yet.

A crash course in building connections between Pure Data or Processing and DIY CMOS circuits using Arduino. This is a really fun way of learning how to integrate software based interfaces, custom code, and physical hardware through music!

Miguel Frasconi (New York) and Joker Nies (Cologne) modify or build their instruments to their needs, creating music from a uniquely imagined tradition. Apart from various analog devices, modified electronic toys and high-end synth modules, they both work with the Omnichord, an electronic autoharp that in its modified, or "bent" form, is a favorite instrument of composers looking for unique ways to create spontaneous and delicate music with subtle control.

Michael Vorfeld is a composer and visual artist, who realizes installations and performances with light and sound. He will present Light Bulb Music, using sounds that are generated by different light bulbs and actuating devices. This is accompanied by a lecture giving insight into the history of the incandescent lamp, and a screening of his film "Leuchtstoff", a film about light, shadow and motion.

The trio of Andrea Parkins, Phillip Stearns and Electro-Sapiens Joker Nies will create sonic fields of lush harmonics and sculpted electronic feedback, re-resisting the circuits into new sound territory. Dafna Naphtali and Jane Rigler, known for their innovative approach to live sound processing, set their duo on a crazed collision course of the acoustic and the electronic. Turntablist Maria Chavez and feedback based instrumentalist Phillip White exploit the tension between rigorous, closed electronic systems and the urgency of human compulsion. Joshua Fried aka RADIO WONDERLAND turns mass culture into recombinant funk. Plus Lars Graugaard aka Lars From Mars will DJ between sets!

The duo of Andrea PARKINS and Matthew OSTROWSKI engages with amplified manipulated quotidian objects, exploring the liminal space between the virtual and phenomenological worlds. VORTEX (Satoshi Takeishi & Shoko Nagai) extract, magnify and modify the past, they make "passing of time" a visual experience. With the LITTLEBITS QUARTET, four members of the littleBits engineering team - Paul Rothman, Geof Lipman, Ed Baer and Sean Schumer - will take to the stage for an improvised performance. Using only Synth Kits as their sound sources, they will create, dismantle, and recreate new instruments during the live performance.

Under the name DIE SCHRAUBER, veteran circuit bender Joker Nies (Cologne), Mario deVega (Mexico City) on amplified objects and turntables, and Hans Tammen (New York) on Endangered Guitar and live sound processing, the trio produces a wide variety of dense musical textures and high-energy interaction, with Paul Geluso channeling the trio's sounds through his newly designed "3D Sound Object".
The duo of Michael Vorfeld and Satoshi Takeishi creates sounds out of incandescent lights and various amplified objects to create an analog and multi-layered sound and light performance.

MakeMusicNewYork is a live, free musical celebration on June 21, the longest day of the year, with over 1,000 concerts on streets, sidewalks, and parks across the five boroughs. This year at The Firehouse, it merges with Hans Tammen’s “Dark Circuits” Festival - with a 20-piece orchestra of Korg littleBits synth players to Phillip White & Mario deVega, to Shoko Nagai & Miguel Frasconi.

APHERESIS is a large multi-movement piece by Hans Tammen for 14 performers of custom-made electronic instruments. The piece is performed by Matthew Ostrowski, Andrea Parkins, Dafna Naphtali, Miguel Frasconi, Phillip Stearns, Philip White, Joshua Fried, Shoko Nagai, Maria Chavez, Satoshi Takeishi, Joker Nies, Mario DeVega, Lars Graugaard and Michael Vorfeld. Prior to the APHERESIS performance, the ensemble will present their own version of "live coding" by creating a "littleBits Monster Synth" from 20 kits of the popular Korg littleBits synth.